10 movies to see before visiting Italy — ShegoWandering Italy Blog

ShegoWandering
7 min readJan 2, 2020

Originally published at https://shegowandering.com on January 2, 2020.

Italy, the colorful towns and cities, breathtaking lands, vineyards, architecture, history, food, and culture inspired many movies over the decades. Here are my 10 movies to see before visiting Italy. Some of them actually inspired me to visit specific towns and cities there! A perfect movie composition for the preparation period, before visiting the country of the dolce vita. Enjoy!

#1 Under the Tuscan Sun

As a lady, this is one of the best movies to see before visiting Italy! I watched this one at least a thousand times. Especially when I was going crazy after returning home from Italy. Or any time I was missing Italy. Or when I just saw a picture or anything on social media that reminded me of Italy and I had some spare time for a movie.

About the movie: The famous writer, Frances Mayes after going through an ugly divorce, decides to go on a trip to Tuscany, where she ends up buying a villa called Bramasole in Cortona. The story presents how this single woman builds a new life in Italy. A beautiful…

--

--

ShegoWandering

I'm a travel and lifestyle blogger, freelance writer, and photographer based in Italy. I'm also the writer of the Wandering Cookbook.